Q: Are there real guns in the classroom?
A: Yes! You will have hands on experience handling actual Pistols, rifles and Shotguns. However, Live ammunition is NOT allowed in the classroom. Precision Point Firearms respects your 2nd amendment rights and understands that you may already be a licensed person rightfully able to carry a firearm however, due to NRA guidelines all individuals will be asked to check in all live ammunition or firearms before the class begins.
Q: How old do I have to be to take this class?
A: We teach most ages however if you are under the age of 18 you will need your parents signature.
Q: How old do I have to be to get a firearms license in Massachusetts
A: At age 15 (with parent signature) you are eligible to apply for an FID card (low capacity rifles and shotguns). At age 18 you will not require a parents signature for an FID card and at age 21 you can apply for a LTC (License to carry) which is good for high capacity pistols, rifles, and shotguns.
Q: How long is the Massachusetts License good for?
A: It expires on your birthday on the 6th year after the issue date. In example, if you get your license the day of your birthday, it’s good for six years. If you get it the day after your birthday it’s good for 5 years 364 days.
Q: How many classes do I need to take to get my license.
A: Just this one class.
Q: Do I have to take this class every time I have to renew my license?
A: Nope, just once.
Q: What do I need to bring to the class?
A: Please bring a photo ID and payment (cash or check) with your positive learning attitude. Bringing other people with you is not required but we encourage you to invite friends to take the class with you. The more informed about Firearms safety the better. Never hurts having a shooting buddy.
Q: What Methods of Payment do you accept as payment and do I need to pay in advance
A: You do not need to pay in advance as all costs are due in the beginning of class during sign in. At the current time we only accept cash or check. If you have a debit card, please stop at an ATM machine before the class.
Q: Is Hollow Point ammunition illegal in Massachusetts
A: NO! Hollow point ammunition is often the ammunition of choice by many concealed carry holders.
Q: Is it legal to carry a pistol concealed in Massachusetts?
A: With the proper licence, YES! There are literally hundreds of law abiding citizens in Massachusetts who carry daily. The Proper license needed is an LTC-A. Both our Home Firearms Safety and Basic Pistol are good for this class.
Q: Can you do private classes at my home or work?
A: YES! We are able to do our home firearms safety class almost anywhere. If you would like to host a firearms class at your residence or place of employment we will give the host the class for free pending the amount of your friends or employees attending.
Q: Are fully automatic/Select fire/ “Machine guns” legal in Massachusetts.
A: Yes they are legal, but heavily regulated by the National Firearms Act and can only be possessed by a holder of a Machine Gun License. This is advanced stuff and not discussed in the Basic classes but feel free to ask us about it if you are interested.
Q: I have a criminal record or have been arrested before, can I get a license?
A: It depends. If you have been convicted on drug charges or a domestic violence charge, dishonorably discharged from the military, or currently subject to a restraining order, than you are a federally prohibited person and are unable to possess a firearm. for more information on federally prohibited persons, check out http://www.atf.gov/firearms/how-to/identify-prohibited-persons.html or call us with your specific situation and we can do our best to help you.
Q: Do I have to take a class to get my Massachusetts Firearms License?
A: Yes. Per M.G.L Chapter 140 § 131 “ No application for the issuance of a firearm identification card or license to carry shall be accepted or processed by the licensing authority without such certificate attached”. The Certificate mentioned in this statute is the certificate you will receive after this class.
Q: I don’t live in Massachusetts or I am only here for school. Can I still take this class?
A: Yes. We encourage anyone interested in firearms or anyone who is around firearms to take a safety class. This class may even be good for your state and is good for a non-resident License.